top of page
  • Writer's pictureOlivia Fan

"i took a 5AM flight to Disappointment"



i took a 5AM flight to Disappointment


regret was the only thing i felt

nestled within my broken heartstrings as i watched

the parched roofs of Texas stretch into

a vast expanse of nothingness

beneath me and my luxurious cubic square foot of flight space

pondering just what my grandparents would say

when i emerged on the broad steps of Kaifeng and Fujian

bearing a Chinese tongue riddled with spotty holes of

American speak


i imagine i’d strain to look them in the eye

for i hate to see my own shame reflected

in my grandma’s speckled irises

to see my shame settled in the corners of her wrinkled mouth

the same one that taught me my first Mandarin words


i know

the reason i’d return my relatives’ ni hao’s

with hello’s

the reason Asian cuisine

fights to feel a sense of familiarity in my mouth

the reason my chattering cousins call me shy

for never speaking

when it’s really because i can't piece two words together

in their language that supposed

to be mine


i know the reason disguises itself among the folds

of my persona

that deep down for a long time

i have been ashamed

of the country i called my home before

the land of the free


somewhere in me i trace

broken bits of images from

the third grade

punctured laughs & mockery

bottomless stomachs & emptied thermos

sardonic sneers as they follow my gaze to the garbage

where my six pristinely wrapped xiao long bao’s lie

among half eaten tuna sandwiches and dirty apple cores

the fruits of hours of my mother’s labor

she was so eager to have me taste

but i never was able to touch

i disinter images of the school bathroom

where i bent over the squealing faucet and picked

at the skin marked an indubitable yellow

i carved my pain into the

sculpture of my being

am i nothing more to you than a color?


in America, my mother recounts narratives

of her broken English

i laugh and help her recite

corn and cone

ship and sheep

so that Nancy on the phone won’t tell her to

“learn English better” the next time

she orders a pizza

but here, it’s my mother murmuring translations

in my ear as i stutter over jiān guǒ and jié guǒ

chǎn zi and tǎn zi

frustration clouds my mind as i

struggle to retain

the whispers of a language i silenced so long ago

and the few silvers i cling on to now

i promise

i am proud of my culture

but is my culture still proud of me?



fog pillows over the parched city i now call home

i touch my fingers to the chilled glass

and breathe my regret to a land over the sea that i cast away

somewhere down the airplane aisle comes the brassy

jingle of the trolley

bearing its familiar contents

i wonder if Nai Nai has had orange Fanta before

somehow i doubt it



160 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page