top of page
  • Writer's pictureOlivia Fan

"MY GREATEST FEARS: FAILURE, SPIDERS, AND GROCERY STORES"





my greatest fears: failure, spiders, and grocery stores

we cruised in between

aisles of

brown egg cartons and partially squashed tomatoes

sugared lemon cookies and Cheerios

heaps of tiny brussel sprouts and wrinkled kiwis

grocery stores are delightful places

for a four year old


my mother plucked a plump cherry from its friends

(and another so it wouldn’t be lonely)

and i tittered my delight

cherries taste best when finished together

yet as the soft skin split under my teeth

and the juice dribbled down my chin

beneath the aura of spicy, warm bread

came the sharp stench of sour beer

and cigarette smoke


maybe it was a gift

that i loved grocery stores so much

for had i not been lost in bliss

i would have seen what people do to you

when you look different from them

when the tones of human paint do not match

the stone of my cherry rang hollow in my mouth

as i asked my mother why she was crying?

but tears do not reek of old men cigarette breath

and tears do not scratch and splatter across your face like dye

stained the color of lush cherry flesh


it’s been twelve years since my mother has gone to a

grocery store alone



134 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page